Question: Most of my friends on Facebook are awesome, but there are a couple that I don't want to follow any longer, and one who tends to post offensive comments. How can I remove them as my friend, and will they know I've removed them?
Answer: You can remove friends from your Facebook account at any time using the instructions below, and the good news is that your friend won't be notified that you've removed them (and neither will your other friends).
Here's how to unfriend or remove someone from your Facebook account:
Step 1: Find your friend
The easiest way to find your friend on Facebook is to click "Friends" on the Facebook menu at the top of your screen, and then click "All Friends".
There you can look through all of your friends, and can also search for your friend by first and last name.
Step 2: Remove your friend
Once you've found your friend and are viewing their profile, scroll down the page and look in the left side bar for a link titled "Remove from Friends".
Click this link, and you'll be asked to confirm that you really want to remove this person as a Facebook friend.
Facebook won't send them an email notification, and your decision to remove them as a friend will go unnoticed (unless they try to view your profile or contact you, in which case they'll see the "Add as a Friend" link and realize that they're no longer your friend).
That's all it takes to unfriend someone on Facebook, and if you change your mind then it's easy to add them again as a friend.